Letort Regional Authority President Andy Parker, center, presents Deb Bolger, left, garden designer, and Carlisle Garden Cub President Judy Vetock, right, with the Crawfoot Award for designing and installing a native plant garden in Letort Park in 2016.


Each year the Letort Regional Authority considers honoring an individual, an organization or both with the Miriam Crawfoot Memorial Conservation Award. The award recognizes voluntary, long-term contributions to the conservation and/or preservation of the Letort Spring Run, its watershed or the Letort Nature Trail.

Miriam Crawfoot served as a municipal representative and chairperson of the Authority. She was instrumental in having the Letort designated as a component of the Pennsylvania Scenic River Program. The award was established in 1988 as a memorial to her outstanding conservation efforts and initiatives.


Previous individual award recipients include:

  • Charles Fox
  • John Broujos
  • Robert Schott
  • Frank Heffelfinger
  • James and Mario Bartoli

Organizations previously honored include:

  • Natural Lands Trust
  • Cumberland Valley Chapter of Trout Unlimited
  • Environmental Studies Department of Dickinson College
  • South Middleton Township
  • Tressler Care Wilderness School (now known as Diakon Youth Services).


Cumberland County Historical Society − for publication of the book Water-Powered Mills of Cumberland County, Pennsylvania.” Individual awards were presented to the book’s contributing authors:

  • Daniel Drawbaugh
  • Sandy Mader
  • Susan Eyster Meehan
  • Robert Rowland
  • Merri Lou Schaumann
  • Robert Schwartz
  • David L. Smith
  • Richard Tritt
  • Rachael Zuch


Carlisle Garden Club − for the design and creation of the Letort Trailhead Garden in Letort Park.


No award presented